Wed, 30 Jun | Brussels

Human Rights Defenders in Latin America: The effects of the Covid -19 and the EU Strategy

Registration is Closed
Human Rights Defenders in Latin America: The effects of the Covid -19 and the EU Strategy

Time & Location

30 Jun 2021, 19:00 CEST
Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

About the Event

This event aims to give visibility in Europe  to human rights defenders in Latin America, who continue to suffer  alarming human rights violations. The panelists will introduce us to the  situation in their respective countries, while an MEP from the European Parliament will offer an analysis on the action of the EU and its  crucial role in the matter. In addition, our director Professor Clara Burbano Herrera will inform on the existing legal  protection mechanisms.

The event is organised by the International Network of Human Rights -Europe- (RIDHE)

Panelists:

  • Alicia Homs Ginel, Member of the European Parliament, MEP of the S&D Group, Member of DLAT and DCAM
  • Clara Burbano-Herrera, Professor and Director Programme for Studies on Human Rights in Context, Ghent University, Belgium
  • César Santoyo Santos, Executive Director of the Colectivo Orlando Fals Borda, Colombia.
  • Wendy Flores, Coordinator of Colectivo de Derechos Humanos Nicaragua Nunca +, Nicaragua.
  • Marusia López, member of the Red Nacional de Defensoras de DDHH, México.

Chair:

  • Elektra Lagos Koetsenruijter, Director Red Internacional de Derechos Humanos -Europa-.

Practical information

June 30th, 17h (Brussels) - 10h (Colombia) - 9h (Nicaragua) - 10h (Mexico-CDMX)

Registration https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_nwX_au74TauTECldFicEkg

* The event will be held in Spanish